Tags

, , , ,

peaceHave you ever noticed that when you watch programs such as, ‘Highway to Heaven’ that when someone needs something from God, they either ‘wish’ for it or indeed, they ‘ask for it’ and it happens – no matter what it is, it happens. Not only does it happen, it happens in an hour, because that’s how long the program lasts.

I asked God something really important. I say, i asked for a miracle, but really i asked for a blessing and although God has blessed me with many things in the last 11 months, He has yet to bless me with what i have asked for.

One of the Gifts the He sent me was, ‘Peace in the Waiting.’ I think it is a beautiful Gift and although it has quietened my heart and my mind on many occasions, the waiting is still terribly hard.

When, Jesus Christ, the Son of God, was on the earth, He gave unto his disciples the Gift of peace;

‘But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.

Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.’ (John 14:26-27)

This is not the kind of Peace that the world gives, but i deep knowing brought about through a continual witness of the Holy Ghost, who Jesus also promises will come to us in times of trials and troubles and will ‘comfort us.’

To feel of this Peace, is not always easy, as the world is noisy and we are often distracted by other things, which are of little or no consequences in the eternal scheme of things. Yet, it is in these moments that we need to feel the Gift of Peace more than ever, but to do so we must temporarily step out of the world with all it’s noise. Now the Peace promised is not a quieting of the noise around us, but the stilling of the Spirit within us.

It as not always been easy for me to feel of this inner Peace, there have been times when i have pleaded and begged for it, especially at 3am, but by stopping and taking time to meditate and pray, it comes, it always comes, in the end, it will always come. It is our gift to partake of freely, it is was not just given to the disciples of old, nor was it given to just me, but it is a gift given to all, we just need to ask for it.

My miracle may not have been granted instantly, but i know that someday God will bring it about.

