Tags

, , , ,

1 And he looked up, and saw the rich men casting their gifts into the treasury.

2 And he saw also a certain poor widow casting in thither two mites.

3 And he said, Of a truth I say unto you, that this poor widow hath cast in more than they all:

4 For all these have of their abundance cast in unto the offerings of God: but she of her penury hath cast in all the living that she had. (Luke 21)

Since I became disabled some seven years ago, I have felt a great lack when it comes to serving others. This past week i pointed this out to my Heavenly Father, for right now I feel as if i lack in every way and this was one more way that occured to me.

But, I have a loving Heavenly Father that knows me and he taught me this valuable lesson twice this week in similar ways.

As I came out of the cinema earlier this week i came across an lady who was asking a couple of security guards for directions to a particular place, she had the address. They had no idea, did you know they are not allowed to have their mobile phones on them while they are working? and she was quite obviously lost and distressed. Yet, it took me less than 5 minutes to take out my mobile phone, open Google maps, put the address in she had in front of her and point her in the right direction – which unfortunately for her was across the other side of the city center, but I gave her directions and she set off – it was 1-2 miles away. Unfortunately at this time i am not well enough to have walked with her, but i offered up a prayer that she would find her way and i believe God would walk with her.

The above Bible story was brought to my mind and i thought ‘one mite.’ I did not have much, but i had ‘one mite’ and i gave it willingly to help someone else.

Yesterday, in the same city, this time on the bus home – a bit of information; the local bus company decided a few weeks back to change most of the stops where buses pull in, for instance my bus used to go from stop 5, now it goes from stop M – keep that in mind while i tell you my story – also the inner city buses are one colour design and the outer city buses are a different colour design – keep that in mind too!

So – yesterday while coming home on the bus from the city, takes about 30 minutes by bus. As i was going out of the city, i was on an outer-of-the-city-coloured-bus (ok?). A lady whose first language was not English, boarded the bus with two small children. I heard her tell the driver where she wanted to go, he took her money and because it was busy, he moved her along. However, she was on the wrong bus, going out of the city in the opposite direction to where she wanted to go. As the bus pulled into the main traffic – going the wrong way – the woman asked the driver again if she was on the wrong bus, he told her to sit down, he couldn’t stop as it was an express service.

The first stop was about a mile out of the center, he stopped to let people off, but he never told her she needed to get off too. As we got to the second stop, about another mile further on, i could hear this woman, who was at the back on a busy bus, asking if she was on the right bus, but no one gave her s straight answer. In the end i stopped the bus from taking off again and called her to the front of the bus and pointing across the road, instructed her that she was on the wrong bus, going the wrong way and she needed to get off the bus, cross the road and get a bus going back the other way to the bus station and when she got there to ask someone where to catch the bus she needed. She got off. Again, i could not go with her, but i prayed that God would and i believe that he did.

Again, the above story was brought to my mind, i did not need to give what i did not have or could not give, but given my ‘two mites’ with all my heart was enough.

  • We are asked to serve by giving all that we are and all that we have to build up the kingdom of God upon the earth. As you go through this week, be mindful of the story of the ‘two mites’ and ask God to help you serve.
