Tags

, , , , , ,

download“Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.

In all they ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct they paths.”

(Proverbs 3:5-6)

For the past, few years I have chosen one word to guide my pondering, my prayers, my scripture study and my life. For 2017, my word has been ‘Surrender.’ To the word surrender as naturally come the word ‘Receive’ because when we are putting our trust in the Lord and surrendering all that we are unto him, then the next thing is for our hearts and minds to be open to receive all that he is willing to give.

At the beginning of the year I was ill, no one could really say why my body decided to be ill, but they thought that it could in some way be connected to my ongoing disabilities. Since then, I have struggled on a daily basis to be well enough to function enough to take care of my own needs. Things have, on occasion been so bad that the only thing left was for me to put all my trust in the Lord and my only prayer was ‘I Surrender…I do not know what to do next to survive this, to make things better, to get well enough to take care of myself – i surrender that i may receive.’

I believe in personal revelation. I believe that through the Holy Ghost, God can and does speak to all his children, we just need to be willing to listen – let me tell now, I have done a lot of listening these past few months. Some of the revelations that came to me through the Holy Ghost were; be still, be quiet, sit still, wait, peace, love, comfort, protection and patience to name a few.

There are times when the only thing that is left to us is to trust God with all our heart, might, mind and strength and then wait upon him so that we can receive all that he has for us. Am I any better at surrendering first without questioning his will? I would like to say ‘yes’ but truthfully, I am not very good at it, even now. I may not know God’s plan for me right now, but I do know that I am never alone – he has never left me and he loves me always, no matter what.

