Tags

, , , ,

The word ‘Ponderize’ originally came from, ‘My Heart Pondereth Them Continually’ a talk given by Devin G Durrant in October 2015, General Conference. He share with the fact that he and his wife had set a 20 years goal to ponderize one verse of scripture every week. The word ponderize was a word he had made-up, but he gave it the following definition –

To ponderize is – 

80 percent pondering

20 percent memorizing

I loved this talk to much, that I took him at his word and began ponderizing one verse of scripture every week. I set my initial goal for a year, but really i should have been bolder and set it for much longer. For although, i am still reading my scriptures daily my desire to choose one verse to ponderize as long since passed.

Generally, i learnt many things. Verses of scripture i had read many times suddenly came alive to me. One single verse would often lead to other verses, church talks, and even music. I felt uplifted by the Spirit and carried along on my journey. However, i allowed it to come to an end, something i intend to rectify as i wasn’t even aware that it had happened, until i decided what to write about today.

How to Ponderize

  • be prayerful
  • set a goal – a start date and an end date
  • allow the Spirit to guide you in your choosing
  • mark the verse in your scriptures
  • keep notes of what you have read and learned
  • share it with others
  • bear testimony of the truth of God’s words
  • encourage others to join in

Here a few of the scriptures i have Ponderized this year –

  1. Malachi 3:10 – tithing
  2. Exodus 20:9-10 – Sabbath day
  3. Proverbs 4:10 – wisdom

Begin today.

This week’s scripture will be –

2 Corinthians 12: 9 (7-10)

‘And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.’

 

