Tags

, , ,

blue blanketC is for Comforter

“And I will pray the Father, and the shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you forever.

But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I had said unto you.” (John 14: 16, 26)

Several years ago, I was assigned to teach a Sunday class of 4 to 6 years old children. One Sunday lesson was about the Holy Ghost and how it can help us.  It is difficult enough for adults to understand the role of the Holy Ghost, even more so for a small child to understand the same concept.  First I explained that the Holy Ghost was the third member of the Godhead. That he was a Spirit, so that He could dwell in us and help us when we needed Him. Yet, when I asked them what the Holy Ghost might feel like and although they tried they couldn’t come up with an answer – I do remember one child saying that the Holy Ghost felt ‘fizzy’ maybe to a 5-years-old He does, it made me smile.

Then I picked up a soft, fluffy blue blanket I had brought with me that day and wrapping each of the children in the blanket – I asked them what it felt like? Answers were; warm, cuddly, fluffy, nice, to name a few. I explained the Holy Ghost can make us feel warm inside and give us comfort like the fluffy blanket when we are sick, frightened or sad.

Jesus Christ, promised his apostles that when he left them, he would send them the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost.  Today, He promises us the same thing; the Comforter will come in the name of Father to make us feel ‘fizzy’ inside and tell us all things that we must know.

