Tags

, , , , ,

a widows miteB is for Blessing

“Bring ye all the tithes into the storehouse, that there may be meat in mine house, and prove me now herewith, saith the Lord of hosts, if I will not open you the windows of heaven, and pour you out a blessing, that there shall not be room enough to receive it.” (Malachi 3:10)

I few years ago, an Elder from church, who was visiting me my home, asked me this one question – What were the blessing of being a faithful tithe payer? – As I sat there pondering, I soon realized that I didn’t know. Yes, I could have given him a general answer, but I felt he was asking me what blessing I had received by being obedient to this one commandment. In the end, I replied I didn’t know. We talked for a while and then he left. Throughout the following week, I continued to pray and ponder upon the question – I too, wanted to know what the blessing was that the Lord had for me?

The answer came, but as with all things the Lord does, it wasn’t what I expected. Here are a few of the blessings that came to me that week and since; a much-needed bus ticket from a stranger, a £5 note, a lift by car, lunch from a friend, never going without a meal, ready cooked meal for all my family, always having enough money to pay the bills…

Did I see a ‘burning bush?’ No, I don’t believe I did – no huge blessing that everyone else could see, but no belly went unfilled, no bill went unpaid and thanks to the Lord I may have officially been homeless four times in my life, but I have never lived on the street. The Lord, continually pours out a blessing for me and when I think about it, I never have room to contain it.

