Tags

, , , ,

book-of-mormonTools for the journey

  • Scriptures
  • A scripture Caterpillar

“And upon these things I write the things of my soul…for the learning and the profit of my children.” (2 Nephi 4:15)

If you want your children to know Jesus Christ, then you must begin early to teach them who He is and the simplest way of doing that, is to sit down every day with your scriptures and read a verse or two together.

What is the blessing that will come from doing this?

It is (at least) two fold –  they will come to know Jesus Christ as their Saviour, that is the spiritual blessing and gain a testimony. But, the temporal blessing is that your children will learn to read quicker and more effectively than any reading program, any school can ever give your child.

Why? 

Because when we do that, which we have been commanded to do, the Lord cannot hold back the blessing, he has promised to the faithful.

Is is it easy? No! Will you read The Book of Mormon is a week or month or even a year – maybe in a year! 

I bear testimony of these things are true. I know from my own experience with my own children, who were all fluent, early readers, that through daily reading of The Book of Mormon as a family, they were given the gift of words, reading them and understanding them too. Also, children need to see their parents doing that, which they are being asked to do themselves.

Do they need an incentive? Yes! Do we need an incentive? Yes! It will be hard work, some days harder than others, but in the end it will be worth it. 

So, to my daughters Grace and Emily and my beautiful granddaughters, Ava and Amelia I set you a challenge to learn to read, at the speed of one verse of scripture a day and here is a little something to help you – A Scripture Caterpillar bookofmormoncaterpillar1

This scripture caterpillar represents the first chapter in The Book of Mormon, which contains 20 verses.

However, if you would like a scripture caterpillar for a different chapter of scripture, please let me know and i will do my best to provide you with one. For each verse read, then colour in one circle – let me know when you are running out of circles i will create more.

i-have-read-the-book-of-mormon-caterpillar

To Do List

  • Instill in your children a love of the scriptures
  • Give them a testimony of Jesus Christ
  • Teach them to read – it will be an amazing blessing to you both.
  • Print out the Scripture Caterpillar, put it up where you can see it and as you read each verse, colour in one circle.
  • Don’t forget to add prayer.
