Tags

,

img_3599Tools for the Journey

  • A verse of scripture – LDS e-scriptures
  • A note pad – i use a Rhodia lined A4 because it has a wide margins for adding bit in as i go.
  • A red colouring pencil
  • A Pen – fine liner
  • A ruler
  • Prayer

After talking to two of my daughters over Skype yesterday, it appears they think I am going insane and that is fine, as long as I am doing so in the Lord’s way.

That said, the verses I am choosing are of my choosing, you may ponder them or you may choose one of your own. Whatever you decide, it is up to you and the Lord, but I would love to know what you chose, why you chose it and what answers you received. And…if people think you have gone a little crazy because you cannot stop talking about Jesus Christ then that’s okay too.

Last week’s scripture

Word: Ponder

Scripture: 2 Nephi 4:15 (The Book Of Mormon)

‘And upon these I write the things of my soul, and many of the scriptures, which are engraved upon the plates of brass. For my soul delighteth in the scriptures, and my heart pondereth them, and writeth them for the learning and the profit of my children.’

img_3597

I decided to use my e-scriptures and as i have previously shared, I bravely removed all previous annotations and notes, giving me a ‘new view’ or a ‘new eye’on old things. This is a scripture I have heard and used many times during my 40 years in the church, it is often read, but do i understand it?

How to Ponderize?

  1. Choose a word for the week. Do this prayerfully and let the Lord guide you. As I was introducing the world to ‘Ponderize = 80% pondering and 20% memorizing (Devin G Durrant, Oct 2015 General Conference), I decided to start with the word – Ponder!
  2. The e-scriptures make searching for a specific word easier as there is a search option at the top of the page, not sure if this is available at other sites other than the http://www.lds.org but if you know of any I would be willing to check them out and share them.
  3. Out of the list of scriptures that appear ‘feel’ the one you should ponderize.
  4. Mark it in your scriptures; I underlined mine in green so that by the end of the year i will still be able to pick out the scriptures i have pondered this year.
  5. Read through the verse several times
    1. Day 1. Read, ponder and read again.
    2. Day 2. Mark the words that are significant to YOU and write them in a list. Note that the LDS e-scriptures i am using have some of the words highlighted with a indented small letter, if using this version of the scriptures you can click on these indents and they will take you to linked scriptures and descriptions to help with your pondering.
    3. Day 3-5. Go through the words one at a time. You may or may not use them all and that is fine, you will know when you are done.
    4. Day 6: Share what you have learnt.
    5. Day 7: Select your next scripture and begin again.

 

img_3598Ponder.

There were many scriptures that came up for this word. Many of them were in Psalms 5:1; 19:14; 63:6; 77:12; 104:34; 119:99; 143:5.

I chose this one Psalms 19:14 ‘Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in thy sight, O Lord, my strength and my redeemer.’ 

Other words connected with Ponder: meditate, study, consider, muse (love this word), rest upon, treasure up.

Study.

Too many verses included the word Study, but here are more words connected to it; diligent, read -all the days of your life, read the law, covenants, prepare the heart to receive, knowing, expound (love this one too), believe, daily, gain wisdom, blessed, heed, feasting, search, teach, time, treasure up in your heart.

Learning.

In 1 Nephi 19:23,  Nephi reads the words of Moses and the writings of Isaiah and did ‘liken all scriptures unto us…’ these words were the scriptures engraved on the brass plates that Nephi speaks about in 2 Nephi 4:15 …’and many of the scriptures that were engraven upon the plates of brass…’ These words are the words that the world knows as The Old Testament, Nephi had these words and read them.

Other words connected to Learning: value, knowing, covenants, builds testimony, able to live it, testify of Christ, doctrine, prophecies of God, great worth, desirable, establishes the truth, tells of Salvation, mysteries of God, knowledge of God, lead men to Christ, builds faith, understand the power of God, treasure, we shall not be deceived.

img_3600

  • What are the things of my soul? What would I write?
  • What ‘profit’ are the scriptures to my children?

What would i write? Is a very good question! It certainly wouldn’t be a simple shopping list. The things that are in my soul are those things that were put there through the Spirit. As the Spirit is the only thing that can bear record of the truth and nothing but the truth, then in my soul are all the truths that God has ever told me. The Spirit as borne witness of the truth found in the scriptures many times, even before i understood them fully, don’t think i will ever do that in this life. The writings of my soul would have to be the things that the Spirit as borne witness to, or what God as told me, or what i have seen or experienced myself.

Therefore, the things that Nephi writes about are those things that he knew in his soul to be truth given to him by God through the Holy Ghost. These things will always remain true, whether we read them or not, whether we believe in them or not.

However, the scriptures will only be of a profit to my children if they read them and gain a knowledge of the treasures and the delights they contain through the Spirit. We can only do this for ourselves, but we are never alone as God will always send help, in the form of the Holy Ghost or indeed earth Angels too. Like Nephi, I can bear testimony of the truthfulness of the words contained in the scriptures. I can show my children that they are a delight to me and that through daily pondering them i can begin to know God and his dealings with man, but there is so much more to learn and know and fill my soul with.

This Week’s Scripture

Malachi 3:10

‘Bring ye all the tithes into the storehouse that there may be meat in my house and prove me herewith saith the Lord of hosts if i will not open the windows of heaven and pour you out a blessing that there shall not be room enough to receive it.’

To Do List

  • Begin today.
