scripturesTools for the Journey

  • Scriptures
  • Post-it notes or small note cards
  • red pencil to mark your scriptures and a pen to write with
  • a notebook or a journal

 

If we treat the scriptures like a novel, they will become like a novel to us.

It is not unknown for me to read one read one novel after another and if at the end of a few months you were to ask me what the novels had been about, I might have a vague remembrance of them, and i could probably tell you, which of the novels i had enjoyed, or not, but probably not much more.

We need to elevate the Scriptures above that of a novel. We need to read them in such a way that they change our hearts and our way of thinking and acting, if we do not, then we might have well read a novel instead.

The word Ponderize came from a talk by Devin G Durrant, titled ‘My Heart Pondereth Them Continually’  which was given at the church’s General Conference in October 2015. (You can listen to or read it here – ponderize). Here are a few words from the talk –

‘I invite you to “ponderize” one verse of scripture each week. The word ponderize is not found in the dictionary, but it has found a place in my heart. So what does it mean to ponderize? I like to say it’s a combination of 80 percent extended pondering and 20 percent memorization.

There are two simple steps:

First, choose a verse of scripture each week and place it where you will see it every day.

Second, read or think of the verse several times each day and ponder the meaning of its words and key phrases throughout the week.’

Over the last year i have read, and in some cases even Ponderized a verse of scripture every week. Now, I invite you to do the same.

Brother Durrant continues, ‘As you reflect on your selected verse each week, words and phrases will be written on your heart. Words and phrases will also be written on your mind. In other words, memorization will take place easily and naturally. But the primary goal of ponderizing is to provide an uplifting place for your thoughts to go—a place that keeps you close to the Spirit of the Lord.’

My verse (s) for the week will appear here first and then you will be able to find the weekly verse at the bottom of the ‘Home’ page. This week’s verse is –

‘And upon these I write the things of my soul, and many of the scriptures which are engraven upon the plates of brass. For my soul delighteth in the scriptures, and my heart pondereth them, and writeth them for the learning and the profit of my children.’ (2 Nephi 4:15)

Brother Durrant likens the Reading of scripture to be like ‘snorkeling’ and Ponderizing as being as if you were ‘Scuba Diving.’ I have never done either in my life thus far, but i understand the analogy and this year i want to do some deep sea diving and allow the Scriptures to change my heart, that i may not only know more, but understand more too.

To Do List

  • Read or listen to Brother Durrant’s talk
  • Begin today – choose a verse of scripture or you may want to ponderize the same one as me.
  • Mark it in your scriptures.
  • Write it where you can see it often.
  • Share your thoughts with someone else – please bring your thoughts back here if you would like to – I would really like that too and it doesn’t have to be the same verse(s).
  • Keep a record of the scriptures you have chosen (or have they chosen you?) and your thoughts about them in a notebook or Journal.
  • Brother Durrant’s goal was for 20-years!?! Set your goal for a year.
