book-of-mormonTools for the Journey

  • Book of Mormon
  • ‘I have read the Book of Mormon’ chart 
  • A red pencil
  • A notebook or you can use your Journal

I first read the Book of Mormon when i was 13-and-a-big-it. I say like that, because i do not know exactly when it was, all i do know is that it was a few weeks before i turned 14 and i know that because i went to church for the first time the day before it was my birthday and they all sang ‘Happy birthday’ to me. It happened like this…

A friend of mine at that time, was being taught by the missionaries from the ‘Mormon’ church, which I now know as The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, and my friend would show me this blue book that she had been given. In the end, feeling extremely scared and very brave at the same time, I asked the missionaries for ‘one of those blue books,’ which they gave me.

It took me two weeks to read the whole of the book from cover-to-cover. After finishing it, if you had asked me what it was about, I wouldn’t have been able to tell you, but i could have told you how it made me feel…or maybe i couldn’t of done? The one thing, I will say now is that i wanted to know more. It was not so much the contents of the book, but the feelings of ‘needing’ to know more. I now know that this was the Holy Ghost bearing testimony of the truthfulness of the words I had read. The understanding of those words as come over the (nearly) 40-years I have been a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints and continues to do so as i continue to read, learn and understand its teachings. But, the Spirit of truth is the same today as it has always been – it is true, it is another testament of Jesus Christ and whether you read it or not it will remain true.

So what is it about?

It is 1000 years of history, set first in Jerusalem and then on the Americas. It is written by ancient prophets, as was the Bible and tells of the dealings of God and his people. In the Bible, Jesus talks about ‘other sheep, which are not of this fold’ I believe that this book is the history of some of those ‘other sheep.’ It gives an account of Jesus Christ’s visitation to the Americas after his resurrection and appearance to his Apostles. It bears witness of Jesus Christ and his ministry among his ‘other sheep.’

Why is it called the Book of Mormon?

Mormon was an ancient prophet of God, who was asked to make an abridgment of many records, which had been written over the 1000 years, and by God’s hand he was able to do so. These records were written for us today and were sealed up in the earth to come forth at the last days, before Jesus Christ will stand upon the earth once again to redeem his people.

I invite all who visit here to read The Book of Mormon another Testament of Jesus Christ.

If you have read it before, I invite you to read it with new eyes – if like mine, your copy is highly-annotated then get a new copy or download a new copy. It you already have an e-copy then i ‘dare you’ to delete all the annotations and notes and begin again.

‘And when ye shall receive these things, I would exhort you that ye would ask God the Eternal Father, in the name of Christ, if these things are not true; and if ye shall ask with a sincere heart, with real intent, having faith in Christ, he will manifest the truth of it unto you, by the power of the Holy Ghost.

And by the power of the Holy Ghost ye may know the truth of all things.’

(Moroni 10:4-5; The Book of Mormon)

To Do List

  1. Read The Book of Mormon – you can download a free app book of mormon app
  2. Read a little every day – this chart will help you keep track and we all love colouring-in right? http://www.mormonshare.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/IHaveReadtheBookofMormon4.jpg
  3. Choose one verse to mark (more about this another day) each day that you read, ponder upon that verse.
  4. Pray for guidance – more about prayer tomorrow.
  5. Write down your impressions as they come to you.
  6. PS – begin at the ‘Introduction’

(The chart looks like this – )

ihavereadthebookofmormon4

 

