Day 21: Jesus Forgave and So Can You

Anyone who has reached adulthood as a past. In that past, will be the ups and downs of life, including disagreements, upsets and fall-outs. Even as we move forward with our lives and think we can forget past events by not being with a certain person or in a certain situation, but really and truly the only way to forget something fully is to forgive the other person.

It took me 10-years to forgive a person for things they had done towards me and my family. Yet, one day, as I stood to teach a Sunday school class on the Atonement of Jesus Christ I knew that the past was over and I understood fully the meaning of forgiveness in that instance.

Forgiveness is not easy, yet, it is through forgiving others that we can come to understand for ourselves the power of forgiveness in our own life as well. As i can testify forgiveness brings a peace that is beyond words or actions, it changes hearts and lifts heavy burdens from shoulders long since press down. How often do we forgive someone? 70 x 7 =???

“21 Then came Peter to him, and said, Lord, how oft shall my brother sin against me, and I forgive him? till seven times?

22 Jesus saith unto him, I say not unto thee, Until seven times: but, Until seventy times seven.”

Matthew 18:21–22

To Do List

  • Have a particularly difficult neighbor or coworker? Be extra nice to him or her this week.
  • Focus on being kind instead of right for an entire day or week.
  • Pray for someone who has hurt you.
  • Read this powerful story of forgiveness.
  • Re-friend or re-follow someone with whom you’ve had a falling out.
  • Try to see things from the perspective of a person who has upset you.
  • Remember a time someone has forgiven you and how it felt.
  • Ask God to help you be more forgiving of others in your life.

(https://www.mormon.org.uk/christmas/in-25-ways-over-25-days/jesus-forgave-others)

