Day 16: Jesus Showed Compassion to Others and so Can You

https://www.mormon.org.uk/christmas/in-25-ways-over-25-days/jesus-showed-compassion

“And Jesus went forth, and saw a great multitude,

and was moved with compassion toward them,

and he healed their sick.”

Matthew 14:14

This evening as my daughter, granddaughter and I watched a film together, I suddenly heard music, band music in fact, coming from an unknown source. Stopping the film, I announced, ‘I can hear angels.’

After a little investigation by my daughter, she located a few of my neighbours and their friends playing Christmas Carols just outside where i lived. Now, we could have ignored them and carried on watching the film, but instead we scooped up Amelia and went outside to listen. As we listened a couple of women came over carrying a plastic tub and announced they were raising money for Cancer Research as one of the women, a neighbour, I did not know had recently lost husband to cancer.

We could have turned these two women away, but a few kind words of comfort and few coins added to their collection was all it took to show compassion.

To Do List

  • https://uk.gofundme.com/
  • Make a simple sacrifice for someone else, whether it’s giving up a seat on the train or letting someone else have the perfect parking space.
