Day 10: Jesus helped others to walk and so can you

“5 And a certain man was there, which had an infirmity thirty and eight years.

6 When Jesus saw him lie, and knew that he had been now a long time in that case, he saith unto him, Wilt thou be made whole?

7 The impotent man answered him, Sir, I have no man, when the water is troubled, to put me into the pool: but while I am coming, another steppeth down before me.

8 Jesus saith unto him, Rise, take up thy bed, and walk.

9 And immediately the man was made whole, and took up his bed, and walked: and on the same day was the sabbath.”

John 5:5–9

Just after my fall down stairs and the subsequent disability occurring due to the fall, i would tell myself that, ‘when i got well i would always travel on the top deck of a double-decker bus, so that the seats downstairs would be left free for those less able to stand.’ However, that didn’t happen! We take walking for granted and before my accident i had spent some time watching people walk and i came to the conclusion that baring any disability, we all walk the same.

I may not be able to climb the stairs on a bus, and i may take up one of the disabled seats at the front of the bus, but i can be willing to share my space if necessary. For, none of us knows what another person is going through or what may be wrong with them that we cannot see, but like Jesus Christ we can support those who are disabled to live a fuller life, by being there for them and including them in what we are doing.

To Do List

  1.  https://www.mormon.org.uk/christmas/in-25-ways-over-25-days/jesus-helped-people-to-walk
