mormonhelpinghandsTools for the Journey

  • A listening hear
  • A loving heart
  • A helping hand
  • A kind word

 

 

 

 

Day 9: Jesus visited the lonely and so can you.

https://www.mormon.org.uk/christmas/in-25-ways-over-25-days/jesus-visited-the-lonely

“35 For I was an hungred, and ye gave me meat:

I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink:

I was a stranger, and ye took me in:

36 Naked, and ye clothed me:

I was sick, and ye visited me:

I was in prison,

and ye came unto me.”

Matthew 25:35–36

On Tuesday 8 December 2009 one of my nieces died in a car accident.

On Thursday 10 December 2009, around dinner time, there was a knock at my front door. When i opened the door, there stood a friend – she said, “I can’t stop, I have to be somewhere else, but i have brought you dinner,” she handed over the food and then left.

It was at this point that i realised that we hadn’t eaten since Tuesday.

It is important that we are open to possibilities and serve when and where and whom we are prompted to do so. There are many people in this world who are hungry for a kind word and kind words cost us nothing, but our time. Be kind today and every day.

To Do List

  1. Get to know your neighbours, you may need them one day.
  2. Write a letter to a friend.
  3. Pray for God to show you the ways you can be of service to others and then, go look for the opportunities to do so and take action.
  4. I was a Stranger Program – http://www.lds.org.uk/refugee-service
  5. https://www.lds.org/topics/humanitarian-service?lang=eng
