scriptures

Tools for the journey

  • Scriptures – I prefer paper ones, but electronic ones are fine too
  • Marking pencils, for high-lighting
  • A timer

Day 6: Jesus read the scriptures and so can You

https://www.mormon.org.uk/christmas/in-25-ways-over-25-days/jesus-read-the-scriptures

Ponderize the Scriptures

“I sincerely pray you will choose to ponder God’s words in an extended and deeper manner.” (My Heart Pondereth Them Continually – Devin G Durrant. First Counselor in the Sunday School General Presidency. October 2015 Conference),

As I listened to Brother Durrant’s talk a little over a year ago, it touched my heart. In his talk he speaks about how he and his wife had set a 20-year goal to ponderize one verse of scripture every week, they had fulfilled 3-years of the goal at that point. I decided to set my own goal.

My goal was simpler – to Ponderize one verse of scripture every week for a year. That year is now up and I find myself what if anything I have learnt. The one for certain i have learnt, is that i need to be more diligent in my study of God’s words. I set off on my journey with great plans; to read, to study, to share and write about the scriptures that either I had chosen or, as in some cases they chose me. I did share and i did read, but unfortunately I didn’t write as much or as often as i could have and probably should have, but time cannot be stopped nor rolled backwards, so all i can do i move forward with time.

As the next begins, I again set the goal to Ponderize the scriptures; 1-2 or may even a few verses of scripture a week. (you can read or listen to Brother Durrant here – )

To ponderize is 80% pondering and 20% memorizing, according to Durrant. It is more than reading, it is allowing the messages in the scriptures sink deep into my heart and change it. For, in changing my heart, my thoughts, my words and hopefully my actions will also be changed, to be more in-line with the teachings of Jesus Christ.

“16 And he came to Nazareth, where he had been brought up: and, as his custom was, he went into the synagogue on the sabbath day, and stood up for to read.

17 And there was delivered unto him the book of the prophet Esaias. And when he had opened the book, he found the place where it was written,

18 The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he hath anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor; he hath sent me to heal the brokenhearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised.”

Luke 4:16–18

To Do List

  1. Read the scriptures for 15-minutes-a-day, set a timer and don’t stop until it goes off, then finish the verse you are reading before you stop.
  2. Ponderize one or more verses per week. Allow the Spirit to direct you in your efforts. Print it our, or write them on note cards and put the cards where you can read them often.
  3. Pray daily. Pray to receive and to understand what it is God is telling you.
  4. If you want to keep track, print out a chart there are plenty to choose from online. I was going to share a few, but I shall leave that up to you to choose.

Note: Every week a new scripture will appear on the bottom of the ‘Home’ page. This week it is Doctrine and Covenants 1:37-38.

